Where has acceptance for your fellow man gone??

Standard

First of all, I would like to note that I am not a religious person. What I believe is that there is a force in the universe that is unexplainable, and very precisely create our world. I do not call it God, Allah, Buddha, or anything of the sort. It is simply a force. If you would ever like to know my entire speech about what I believe in, let me know, and we’ll talk.

An event featured in the news caught my attention the other day. A non-denominational church in Florida is organizing “Burn a Quran” day to protest the Islamic culture, and to essentially punish Muslims for what happened on September 11, 2001. Now, how this church can think it’s okay to do this in God’s name is beyond me. Anyways, a high school friend of mine created a Facebook event called “International Buy a Quran Day”, which will occur on September 12th, to create acceptance towards the Muslim community, and also to invite Muslims to buy Bibles, to establish acceptance and respect towards Christians. While I won’t be participating (I’m flat broke…) I believe it’s a wonderful idea and could definitely create a respect between those of different cultures and religions.

What I absolutely could not believe was the amount of hate and ignorance posted on the Facebook page’s wall, with people saying things like “Let the Quran Burn!” and “F–K Muslims!!!” Instead of even taking the time to read a passage or two from the Quran to even know what it’s all about, they decide to hate on a huge population that they know nothing about. They talk about how horrible 9/11 was and what “the Muslims did to America” without stopping to realize that there are many Muslim-American United States citizens who were equally, if not more so, affected by the attacks on our country. I have friends that were taunted because they were Muslim and “blamed” for what happened on 9/11. Can anyone tell me how this is fair?

I’m really tired of everyone preaching their religions to one another, and telling each other that “no, your way is wrong.” Isn’t religion supposed to be a personal relationship between you and the god you believe in? But everyone is going to argue and burn holy books in protest of someone elses’ beliefs??? The ignorance and hatred that has taken over our world makes me incrediblly sick.

Honestly, I planned to write a lot more, but I don’t think there’s much more that I can say. Our world has become a place of hatred and violence towards others…I just wish people were able to accept others for who they are, and not who they believe in.

Leave a Reply

