There is a poet inside of everyone.

Standard

Poetry has been a part of my life for as long as I can remember, but I know I didn’t write it much until 6th grade, when it was assigned. Our teacher told us to write, as she put it, “a rhyming poem”. Once we were finished, we got a chance to share it with the class if we wanted. Even after 9 years, I still remember it:

On my side, I watch the tide

As the sun goes down.

I see people wearing gowns,

I guess it’s time for bed.

As I sleep, I watch the sheep

Jumping over my head.

And in a daze of childish ways.

My thoughts slowly drown.

My teacher told me that day that I was a good poet (I just didn’t know it!) and she encouraged me to keep writing. I continued to write through middle school and into high school, but unfortunately, I’ve moved a few times, and the majority of the poems I had were thrown out. I have managed to keep a few of my pieces that I enjoy most, and perhaps I will post those soon.

I have met a great deal of amazing writers in the past, one of which just published a book of her poems (click to purchase “Bitter Grapes” by Cat Enos…BUY IT!!!). Cat Enos is a great friend of mine and an incredibly talented writer. She has been a wonderful inspiration to me, helping me to get back to writing poems again, as well as encouraging me to get mine published as she did. I’ve also met many great poets and writers here on WordPress, all encouraging me to post more! Thanks everyone for the encouragement. It means a lot to me.

The poem I’ll post today doesn’t have a title, but I enjoyed writing it:

Take the moment in your hand

Hold it; never let it go.

Dream 10,000 dreams,

And never feel any woe.

Live without regrets,

Tomorrow starts a new day.

Create many memories,

Embrace the sun’s shining ray.

Life can be exciting,

Or just as dull as you choose.

Live the way you want,

Everything is up to you.

I’m a little rusty since I haven’t written a poem in a while, but I can’t wait to post more. Again, thank you everyone for your inspiration, and thanks for reading.

xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

