Epic cake fail.

Standard

Have you every been to a website called cakewrecks.com? It’s an absolutely hilarious site that has pictures of professional cakes gone totally wrong. While I’m definitely far from a professional, I had high hopes for my Valentine’s Day cake that I was making for my coworkers. It came out looking like it belonged on that website, and even in some Cake Wall of Shame. It was just…BAD.

My attempt at a Valentine's Day cake

This is the back side of it. First mistake? Cake wasn’t nearly dense enough. I had plans on using a recipe along with boxed cake mix to make it more dense, then I totally forgot about it, and well…it ended up all crumbly. Fondant turned out nicely for the most part, but ended up getting too dry and some pieces were breaking as I was trying to decorate, hense just the three hearts. Soooooo….I ended up leaving the cake here at home for the family to consume. I just couldn’t take it into work.

One of my next baking adventures will be with a friend of mine…we’re going to make St. Patty’s day goodies! That will be in about a week and a half, and I’ll be sure to post pictures. Although, I’m really thinking I want to try making something again soon. Maybe I won’t be a spazz and forget to make the cake correctly. :)

Practice makes perfect, right? I’ll get there eventually. Live and learn!

xoxo

Elysia

5 responses »

Leave a Reply

